Title: Are Our Banners Clean?
Redguard - February 28, 2006 01:58 PM (GMT)
I can't see what's in the Google Ad banner at the top of this page, but whatever it is, my company's Content Filter is blocking it out and referring to it as "Adult Content"
Do the admins have any control over what kind of banners show up?
Addicted2~Jesus - February 28, 2006 02:04 PM (GMT)
DWT
I haven't seen anythin that would be considered adultish er anythin, some can be crude an others of course worldly, but nuthin wit adult content, though I gotta say I don't look at em very often either.
clayman - February 28, 2006 02:08 PM (GMT)
I've seen a lot of stuff that really shouldn't be on a Christian site - but then again, I haven't seen anything objectionable either - except the occasional ad for gay love poems.
We have no control over the ads unless we want to pay for it. Yeah, everything costs money these days.
Redguard - February 28, 2006 03:11 PM (GMT)
I wanna be online with you guys today, but all these banners popping up... may send alarms over to the IT department. I don't want to get in trouble.
Maybe they've added more filters for more frivolous stuff, like "religion" or "dating".
Anyway, gotta go. :(
Addicted2~Jesus - February 28, 2006 03:45 PM (GMT)
DWT
Anybody know what the cost is to remove the banners?
Sarah - February 28, 2006 04:03 PM (GMT)
| QUOTE (Addicted2~Jesus @ Feb 28 2006, 09:45 AM) |
DWT
Anybody know what the cost is to remove the banners? |
$0.15 per 1000 page views, minimum $5 purchase.
Redguard - February 28, 2006 04:37 PM (GMT)
Here's what message I see in place of the banners:
Your organization's Internet use policy restricts access to this web page at this time.
Reason:
The Websense category "Adult Content" is filtered.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
URL:
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagea...4175891811072&d t=1141144628510&alternate_ad_url=http://www.invisionfree.com/files/index.php?bg =E4EAF2&txt=000000&link=000000&format=728x90_as&output=html&channel=8442364700& url=http://fhlforums.com/index.php?showtopic=1474&st=0&#entry3225238&color_bg=E 4EAF2&color_text=000000&color_link=000000&color_url=000000&color_border=E4EAF2& loc=http://fhlforums.com/index.php?showtopic=1474&st=0&#entry3225238&cc=8&u_h=7 68&u_w=1024&u_ah=738&u_aw=1024&u_cd=32&u_tz=-300&u_his=63&u_java=true
Redguard - February 28, 2006 04:38 PM (GMT)
I hope they don't think I'm trying to look at pron!! :(
clayman - February 28, 2006 05:01 PM (GMT)
That link only comes up with the banner itself. Every time I plug it in it comes up with different ads.
Yeah, I would lay low for a while. It seems that they must have cracked down on their filtering. Perhaps they link all Google ads with adult content?
Addicted2~Jesus - February 28, 2006 05:03 PM (GMT)
| QUOTE (Redguard @ Feb 28 2006, 10:38 AM) |
| I hope they don't think I'm trying to look at pron!! :( |
DWT
Yah! I hope they don't think your lookin at pron either!! Thats some really bad stuff! hehe
But naw I don't see why these ads would show up as adult stuff
ceres - February 28, 2006 06:43 PM (GMT)
I saw that one too, it was up all yesterday.... I can't remember what it was now :doh: but the thought did cross my mind "wow, that probably shouldn't be on our site"
Redguard - February 28, 2006 06:44 PM (GMT)
Hi, I'm back again! :D
I still see the filter warning. And it's showing up on the CF Google Ad banners as well.
Strange...
Redguard - February 28, 2006 10:40 PM (GMT)
Well, I'm home now (without the filters).
I saw one ad that said something about "sexy singles".
But it doesn't show up on EVERY banner. And my company seems to be blocking all of them.
Maybe they're just blocking Google Ads in general... but if that's the case, then why did it saying that it has Adult Content? That's so embarassing!
ceres - February 28, 2006 10:53 PM (GMT)
This is the one I was thinking of ..... picture of a woman laying in bed.... says "A mission people to browse, Mate1 Intimate Dating" So.... an add for a dating site for sex. Great.